The Deslondes – Hurry Home

  • July 31, 2017

On Hurry Home, the latest release from the The Deslondes, the band continues with their polished mix of New Orleans music, swamp country, folk and blues. This new set of 13 songs are a bit more electrified and upbeat sounding, with psychedelic flourishes featured throughout the album. If you are new to the Deslondes the five-piece band divides songwriting and lead vocal duties among its five members, Sam Doores, Riley Downing, Dan Cutler, John James Tourville, and Cameron Snyder, which also adds diversity to the band’s overall sound. Album highlights include: the album opener – a ballad about Louisiana summer heat, “Muddy Water”; the rockabilly “Hurricane Shakedown”; the bittersweet “She Better Be Lonely”; the slow waltz “Just in Love with You”; and the melancholy heartbreaker “Déjà Vu and a Blue Moon.” The Deslondes put out another great record with Hurry Home that I’ll be spinning for the rest of summer and beyond. – Written by JFelton



SIMILAR | Andrew Combs, Justin Townes Earle, John Fullbright, Dave Rawlings Machine, Aaron Lee Tasjan