• December 10, 2014

Last November, the folk rock band Fruit Bats announced they were calling it quits, and now former frontman Eric D. Johnson has released EDJ – a summation of his music projects ranging from the off kilter folk-pop of the Fruit Bats to the experimental rustic rock of Califone and indie rockers The Shins, as well as his film score work (My Idiot Brother, Smashed). While not a Fruit Bats album per se, EDJ resides clearly in the same vein, which is not surprising given Johnson’s indelible role in the group. Here Johnson showcases his characteristic lighthearted songwriting alongside clever hooks, rich arrangements, sensitive vocals and an overall hazy, melancholy 70’s vibe. Standout tracks include: the catchy piano opener “For the Boy Who Moved Away”, “Lose It All, All the Time”, the slightly twangy “A West County Girl”, the twinkling “Odd Love”, and the 70’s psychedelia inspired “Child in the Wild.” All in all, fans of Fruit Bats will delight in this solo direction, despite the beloved band’s demise. – Written by JFelton



SIMILAR | Califone, Fruit Bats, Holopaw, The Shins, Vetiver