Goldfinch – Faded Explanations Vols. 1-3

  • December 3, 2012

Goldfinch is a Tacoma, WA based band comprised of Aaron Stevens (vocals, guitar), Paul Hirschl (drums), Steve Norman (trumpet, slide guitar), Emily Ann Peterson (vocals, cello), Luke Stevens (guitar, keyboard, vocals) and Bergstrom (bass). The five-piece recently released their sophomore full length, Faded Explanations Vols. 1-3, a collection of twelve folk songs written over the past half decade. With a style that features harmonious vocals shared by Stevens and Peterson, lovely strings, emotive pedal steel, and melodic folk with occasional rock flourishes, Goldfinch are slowly gaining fans and impressing local critics with their earnest, melancholy, and warm songs. Co-produced by the band and Zach Varnell, and recorded in the home of Howard Leese (Heart), standouts include opener “Wow” which starts out with simple electric guitar and duet vocals of Stevens and Peterson with the gradual addition of weeping pedal steel, for a lovely, sweeping start as well as “Beautiful Wine” and organ infused closer “Time Away.” – Written by SMarx

SIMILAR | Bryan John Appleby, Drew Grow & the Pastors’ Wives, The Head and The Heart, Ryan Tanner