Son Volt – Notes of Blue

  • March 7, 2017

The seminal alt-country band Son Volt, which is led by Jay Farrar (Uncle Tupelo), has released their eighth studio album, Notes of Blue; it is the first Son Volt album since 2013. Notes of Blue features ten ’20s and ’30s Delta blues-inspired tracks that pull from a range sources like Mississippi Fred McDowell, Skip James, and Nick Drake. Album highlights include: the country soul infused “Promise The World”; the reminiscent sounds of “Back Against the Wall”; the raw primal energy of “Cherokee St”, “Static”, and “Sinking Down”; and the melodic blues infused “The Storm” and “Cairo and Southern.” Notes of Blue reminds me why I love Son Volt, Uncle Tupelo, and Farrar’s solo work so much, and I especially like the fact that he is changing things up a bit. – Written by JFelton



SIMILAR | Jay Farrar, Jason Isbell, Slobberbone, Uncle Tupelo, Lucinda Williams, Wilco