The Texas Gentlemen – TX Jelly

  • December 13, 2017

The Texas Gentlemen – a rowdy bunch of country soul rockers hailing from the Lone Star state – have released their enjoyable studio LP, TX Jelly. The core five piece comprised of Ryan Ake, Beau Bedford, Daniel Creamer, Nik Lee, and Matt McDonald have long worked in studio sessions backing others, but it was as the backing band for Kris Kristofferson’s long-awaited return to the Newport Folk Festival in 2016 where the group really started to form. A few weeks following that acclaimed performance, Bedford, a locally renown engineer and producer, found himself at FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, AL with a time slot to fill, and four days and 28 tracks later, TX Jelly was born. The final product is 11 tracks of blissful country jams. Standouts include funky opener Habbie Doobie, the rocking title track, and the eight minute plus psychedilc surf rock of Shakin’ All Over. Do yourself a favor and grab this authentic Texas country gem. – Written by JFelton



SIMILAR | Blank Range, Blitzen Trapper, The Dustbowl Revival, Jonny Fritz, Gasoline Lollipops