War On Drugs – A Deeper Understanding

  • September 28, 2017

The Philadelphia based atmospheric indie rock band The War on Drugs continues where the group’s critically acclaimed 2014 release Lost in the Dream left off. A Deeper Understanding features the band’s signature blend of classic heartland rock influences (like Wilco, Springsteen and Dylan) with a meticulously layered kaleidoscope of analog and electronic sounds and instrumentation. A Deeper Understanding was recorded with a six-piece band beginning with frontman and singer/songwriter Adam Granduciel, Dave Hartley (bass), Robbie Bennett (keyboards), Charlie Hall (drums), and multi-instrumentalists Jon Natchez and Anthony LaMarca. Notable tracks include: the epic 11-minute first single “Thinking of a Place”; the pulsing midtempo opening track “Up All Night”; the soaring “Holding On”; the piano-based “Knocked Down”; the slow-burning “Strangest Thing”; the hazy introspective track “Pain”; and the gorgeous ballad/closing track “You Don’t Have to Go.” A Deeper Understanding is another exceptional release from The War on Drugs! – Written by JFelton



SIMILAR | Grizzly Bear, Kevin Morby, The National, Kurt Vile, Wilco